Singapore post-hardcore band Villes have released the second single “The Fear Generation” off their debut album ‘The Cure’, set for release in May via Shibui Records. The single also features a collaboration with famed rapper THELIONCITYBOY. Watch the official music video here:

On the song, vocalist Dominic Tan explains, “We live in a time where people are driven by greed, fame and routine. Forced into a rat race, to fulfil an imaginary obligation set by society. We hear people complain about their current situation saying that they aren’t satisfied with their jobs or where they are in life. ‘Bound by the collar, $lave to the dollar’ was the tag line that we always went back to while creating “The Fear Generation”. Inspired by the countless stories we hear by our peers. Being forced to live out their life as expected by their parents or blindly following the “conventional” path which leaves them feeling unfulfilled when they go to bed every night.

There’s a line in the second verse which goes “It makes us sick how relentless words meet emptiness”. It’s just tiring how people complain about wanting to change up their current situation and also hold themselves back by their own fear of unfamiliarity. This song is a call to arms, and hopes to inspire the listener to take action about it, take a step towards doing something that’ll make you happy. (Or at least stop complaining about it).”

‘The Cure’ is mixed & mastered by Josh Schroeder (The Plot In You, In Hearts Wake, The Color Morale). The album centers on Villes’ personalized brand of post-hardcore music infused with pop sensibilities, evident in their signature blend of screams and clean catchy choruses that are supported by a commanding structure of complex guitar riffs forming groove linearity with the drums.

“The Cure, which symbolises a breakaway from society’s standards. People believe are held captive to rules set by others. The Cure hopes to inculcate courage, by letting people know that they can do what they want in their lives without the fear of losing out.” states Bryan Sta Maria, guitarist/vocalist of Villes.

‘The Cure’ Track Listing

1. Bound
2. The Cure
3. The Fear Generation (feat. THELIONCITYBOY)
4. The Other Side (feat. Luke of Ocean Grove)
5. Stage 4
6. The Levy Pt.2
7. Don’t You Worry
8. Step Down (feat. Ryo of Crystal Lake)
9. City Of Gold [Remixed & Remastered]
10. Farewell

Stream “The Fear Generation” via Spotify or Apple Music.
Pre-order ‘The Cure’ via iTunes here:

When pre-ordered digitally, fans will also receive the first single, “Don’t You Worry”, as an instant grat track. The single, which topped the Rock Chart in Singapore, was featured on Triple J – Short.Fast.Loud (Aus) and idobi Radio (US).

Villes is also the main supporting act for Australian metalcore band Northlane in Singapore on May 6th at The Pavilion, Far East Square. Tickets are available here:

Villes is Dominic Tan (vocals), Bryan Sta Maria (guitars/vocals), Tan Ming Jie (guitar), Mark Ong (bass) and Benjamin Lim (drums).