The Rasmus have posted about their new album, here’s the statement:

Friends! We are proud to announce our new album Dark Matters. Out September 22.
Here is the tracklist:
1 Paradise
2 Something in the Dark
3 Wonderman
4 Nothing
5 Empire
6 Crystalline
7 Black Days
8 Silver Night
9 Delirium
10 Dragons Into Dreams


Current members:

  • Lauri Ylönen, vocals
  • Pauli Rantasalmi, guitar
  • Eero Heinonen, bass
  • Aki Hakala, drums

The Rasmus is a Finnish rock band formed in 1995 in Helsinki. The original band members Lauri Ylönen (vocalist / songwriter), Eero Heinonen (bass), Pauli Rantasalmi (guitar) and Janne Heiskanen (drums). Heiskanen left the band in 1998 and replaced by Aki Hakala.

Before releasing their fourth studio album Into (2001), the band were only known as Rasmus, but renamed The Rasmus to avoid confusion with the same name Swedish DJ Rasmus. They gained international fame with their album Dead Letter 2013 which received gold and platinum in several countries, accompanied by the single “In The Shadows” which reached number 1 in numerous countries. Their follow-up album Hide from the Sun which was released in October 2005 also got platinum in Finland.

The band is one of the most successful in Finland with over 3.5 million albums sold worldwide, eight gold awards and five platinum awards. They have released seven studio albums, two compilation albums and 21 singles. Some of the band’s popular songs are “Liquid”, “FFF-Falling”, “In The Shadows”, “First Day of My Life”, “Funeal Song”, “No Fear”, “Sail Away”, “Livin ‘In A World Without You “, and” Justify “. Their latest album, titled Black Roses, was released in 2008. It soon replaced Metallica’s latest album Death Magnetic on the Finnish Charts Album and got gold after one week. In early 2010, The Rasmus began working on the next album, to be released by the band’s private record label because their contract with their previous label was disbanded at the end of 2009.

In 2011, Ylönen announced a solo album scheduled for release in March 2011 with the first single “Heavy” coming out in February. The material will premiere on Emma Gala on February 26, 2011. Ylönen states that he wants some songs that do not fit The Rasmus to be released as a big recording rather than a demo. The album itself was produced with its record label Dictionary Records. In the summer The Rasmus was team up again to finally produce their eighth studio album “The Rasmus” self-titled.

The Rasmus discography:

  1. Peep (1996)
  2. Playboys (1997)
  3. Hell of a Tester (1998)
  4. Into (2001)
  5. Dead Letters (2003)
  6. Hide from the Sun (2005)
  7. Black Roses (2008)
  8. The Rasmus (2012)
  9. Dark Matters (2017)